Meet the Team: Dan!

2.2Hi, everyone! My name is Juan Daniel Torres, but most people call me Dan. I’m currently a sophomore and plan on graduating May 2016. A recent change of my career path has left me with an undecided major, although I plan to graduate with either an Anthropology or Public Health major.

When I’m not studying for classes or working on GlobeMed projects, I usually shut my brain off by going for a run or watching Tom Hanks/Meg Ryan era rom coms while eating Pan-Asian food. I don’t like to admit I’m a big TV watcher, but I have a soft spot for Game of Thrones, Suits, How I Met Your Mother, Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Arrested Development (not too many, right?… right?). Don’t get me wrong, though, I also love reading. I’m the type of person who doesn’t usually talk unless I know what I’m talking about. Therefore, I’m usually reading research papers or case studies that interest me and that are currently present in global discussions.

 During my time with GlobeMed, I worked on a benefit concert Spring 2013, I managed Global Getdown, a multicultural dance competition for on-campus dance troupes, Fall 2013, I will be managing the ActiveU Gala, a gala-styled benefit dinner with influential speakers, Spring 2014, and I am on the GROW team this year! I’m extremely excited and thankful to be a part of this year’s GROW team and look forward to contribute all my energy and knowledge to make sure we leave Cambodia reaching all our goals, as well as learning more about our partner to bring back to our campus.
I have few hidden talents, but it’s quality not quantity, right? Besides baking a killer gourmet bread (killer because it’s so good), I also take pictures, have a higher than average memory, and can drive manual. Although most people outside the US wouldn’t consider driving manual a talent, many are surprised I drive manual when they get in my car. If I could have any superpower, it would probably be replication. I often have to tell myself that I can’t be everywhere at once because there are so many issues I want to research and tackle. If there were more of me, however, I could be everywhere at once. I wouldn’t have to limit myself within a few fields to study. Instead, I would be able to address multiple issues in multiple fields without compromising my time.
Leave a Reply

